Bandcamp / Instagram / Contact

Sat 27th July - Water Rat’s, London

Send and Return
Blackford Hill, released 26th May 2023

Purchase here via Bandcamp
Send and Return is the result of a live session recorded on board a Thames sailing barge on the Blackwater estuary in Essex on the east coast of England.

Ultramarine were joined for the session by Greg Heath (soprano sax & alto flute) and Ric Elsworth (vibraphone & percussion).

Photos: Ian Cooper

Send and Return is available via Bandcamp and in record stores (distributed by Kudos).

$10 Rework
12” single/download
Real Soon, released 11th November 2022

Purchase here via Bandcamp 
Ultramarine & Anna Domino meet again for a reworking of their collaborative track $10 Heel.

The song originally appeared on the Ultramarine album Signals Into Space (Les Disques du Crépuscule, 2019). $10 Rework replaces the urgent, jittery rhythm of the original with a straighter House backbone and then proceeds to disassemble the structure with a pair of freestyle, hands-on-the-desk, on-the-fly dub mixes.

Anna Domino's stream-of-consciousness lyrics tell the impressionistic tale of post-club after-hours chaos in Times Square, NYC circa 1979. Anna raps off studio equipment brand names like passing neon signs glimpsed in a blur through a taxi cab window.

Anna Domino, 1979

$10 Rework is available via Bandcamp and in record stores (distributed by Word And Sound).

Folk (30th anniversary edition)
Foam On A Wave, released 13th November 2020

Purchase here via Bandcamp

Originally released by Les Disques du Crépuscule in 1990 our debut album ‘Folk’ has been remastered and lovingly reissued by Foam On A Wave.

Vinyl & digital  available now via Bandcamp.

“...decades ahead of its time... a classic that deserves to be rediscovered” [Electronic Sound magazine]

Real Soon, released 15th November 2019

Purchase here via Bandcamp

Meditations is two long-form ambient pieces performed with a reduced palette of kalimba, treated guitar, wavetable & analogue synths and hardware effects. 

Conceived as a companion to Ultramarine’s seventh album Signals Into Space (2019), Meditations was originally released by Les Disques du Crépuscule as a limited edition CD.

Meditiations is released by Real Soon for the first time on vinyl. It was recorded with Andy Ramsay (Stereolab) and mastered by Jason Goz (Transition Mastering), with artwork by Heretic/Spectral Nation.

Meditations is available with a download via Bandcamp or in record stores (distributed by Honest Jon’s Records).

Signals Into Space
Les Disques du Crépuscule, 2019

Purchase here via Les Disques du Crépuscule
Purchase here via Bandcamp

Photo: Emily Bowling
Signals Into Space is the brand new studio album by Ultramarine - released on 11th January 2019 on double-vinyl with gatefold sleeve and CD by Les Disques du Crépuscule.

The new record features four songs written in collaboration with American singer-songwriter Anna Domino, a huge favourite of ours since her avant pop releases on Crépuscule in the 1980s.

Also guesting are saxophonist Iain Ballamy (ECM, Bill Bruford’s Earthworks, Loose Tubes) and percussionist & vibraphone player Ric Elsworth. The album was recorded & mixed in London with Andy Ramsay (Stereolab) and mastered by Noel Summerville. Design & artwork by Heretic/Spectral Nation.

Meditations, a companion release to Signals Into Space, is a CD mini-album containing two longform ambient pieces. Meditations is available exclusively via mail order from Les Disques du Crépuscule.